Arthur C. Clarke award winners, Tade Thompson and Namwali Serpell, in conversation!

We are excited to have the 2019 and 2020 Clarke Award winning authors with us for a live chat.  Join Tom Hunter, administrator for the award, as he introduces Tade Thompson, Namwali  Serpell and their work.

4.30 PM, SUN 13 DEC 2020

[THIS IS A FREE EVENT, but if you are in a position to support our volunteer-run festival please donate below. Thank you! ]


Tade Thompson is the author of Rosewater, which was the winner of the 2019 Arthur C. Clarke Award, inaugural winner of the Nommo Award and a John W. Campbell finalist. He has written a trilogy set in the world of Rosewater and is working on a space opera. His Shirley Jackson Award-shortlisted novella The Murders of Molly Southbourne has recently been optioned for screen adaptation. Born in London to Yoruba parents, he lives and works on the south coast of England where he battles an addiction to books.



Namwali Serpell

Namwali Serpell was born in Lusaka. Her first novel, The Old Drift (Hogarth, 2019), won the Anisfield-Wolf Book prize for fiction “that confronts racism and explores diversity,” the Arthur C. Clarke Award for science fiction, the Grand Prix des Associations Littéraires Prize for Belles-Lettres, and the L.A. Times’ Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction. She is a Professor of English at Harvard University.